Faculty Affiliates


Our initiative is extremely fortunate to be supported by AFFILIATES equally committed to understanding how sports impacts society. Our members include:

  • Dawn Anderson-Butcher, Professor, College of Social Work 
  • Osei Appiah, Professor, Faculty of Communication
  • Janet Box-Steffensmeier, Political Science
  • Russ Crawford, Associate Professor of History, Ohio Northern University 
  • Scott Grant, Assistant Professor and Director of Sport & Event Management, University of Findlay
  • Archie Griffin, Winner of Two Heisman Trophies, Former President of The Ohio State University Alumni Association
  • Yana Hashamova, professor and department chair, Slavic and East European Languages and Cultures
  • Gerald Kosicki, Associate Professor of Communication
  • Linda Logan, Executive Director, Greater Columbus Sports Commission
  • Christopher Mizer, Ohio State Athletic Trainer
  • James Onate, Associate Professor, Athletic Training Division, Director, MOVES Laboratory, The Ohio State University
  • Marscilla Packer, Athletic Director, Cincinnati College Preparatory Academy , Director of Ohio Youth Girls Basketball, 4 time Big Ten Women’s Basketball Champion
  • Chris Puckett, Esports Hall of Famer  
  • Shaun Richard, Associate Athletics Director for Sport Administration at Ohio State University
  • B. David Ridpath, Kahandas Nandola Professor of Sports Administration, Ohio University
  • Brian Turner, Associate Professor, Sports Management, The Ohio State University
  • Jacki Windon, Ohio High School Athletic Association